That’s how I know

About two months ago, when looking for a community volunteer position, I found a program that helps promote literacy and reading among young students. Having volunteered at my public library throughout middle and high school, I knew I loved working with kids and opening their minds through books. Books were my first love, and still are. The joy of reading a good book is really just unparalleled for me by (mostly) anything else, and I loved seeing kids learn and open their imagination through books as well.

The main program was sending volunteers to various public schools in the city to read to kids during their library period. But when I got to the orientation meeting, I learned about another program the organization had: newspaper clubs afterschool. I almost jumped out of my seat when I heard that. Having been deeply involved with my high school paper and college paper, both as a writer and editor, I jumped at the chance to impart my love of journalism to other students. I was so excited to hear that the organization was working with younger kids on journalism.

Today, finally, I had my first session at a middle school helping fifth and sixth graders with their articles. I met them for the first time, and I remembered why I love working with kids. They are so unassuming and full of infectious energy, and have so many fantastic ideas that they can’t wait to share with the world. It’s so refreshing. And working with them just makes me forget my worries for a little while, and the time passed so quickly because I was enjoying myself. But the young girl I was working with was so hyper and brilliant and full of ideas, she could barely concentrate on one. Getting her to finally focus and get her ideas on paper was great, and she was so clearly proud of her research and eager to share her work. It was so much fun to see. And it’s only the first week. I can’t wait for the sessions in the weeks (and I hope, months ) to come.

Leave a comment