Music magic

Yesterday, I picked up my best friend before we headed to the movies, like we’ve been doing since sixth grade. And like sixth grade, she got the in car and whipped out CDs from her purse. But this time, instead of another mix (she bangs out playlists & mixes like it’s her job, and it’s awesome), she pulled out some old pop music. “It’s S CLUB 7!” she yelled. And then “MORE S CLUB!” … “And if we get S’Club’d out, I got us some N*SYNC.” I can’t explain the joy I felt looking at those old CDs. We loaded them into the CD player and off we went, wailing along to “You’re My Number One,” “Everybody Wants Ya,” and other wonderful old pop songs from the first S Club 7 album.

I miss this pop music. It’s just good old-fashioned group pop songs. S Club 7 was really good at having cute, retro songs that weren’t obviously retro or trying too hard. They were cute, peppy songs from a fun group. Try listening to the songs without a smile on your face.

I really loved this group growing up, and I watched their TV show all the time. They were just a fun bunch, and I loved their songs. They were simple and cute, and it was good music. I miss that nowadays. My favorite was Paul. He had a great voice, even though he wasn’t solo on too many songs. But in the car yesterday, my friend and I screamed “PAUL!” each time we heard him. Good fun. I was so sad when he left the group. It just wasn’t the same. But my favorite S Club 7 song is his song “Love Train” from their second album, 7. It’s simple and sweetly romantic, and his voice makes everything that much better.

All these songs are just wonderful fun pop songs that make for a fun car ride or jam session (or both! 🙂 ) I think I enjoyed the group so much because they were all silly and goofy and just genuinely having fun during each song. And that made each song more fun to listen to later. The lyrics were simple and joyful, but still ring true today. That says a lot.

2 thoughts on “Music magic

Leave a comment